ERIE, PA – A piece of architectural history has been rebuilt in Pennsylvania.
The legendary architect Frank Lloyd Wright is best known for his Falling Water house in Mill Run, Pennsylvania. Now its original San Francisco, Pennsylvania office has been rebuilt at 356 W. Sixth Street in Erie.
Visitors can walk through the rebuilt office starting July 17, when the Erie County Historical Society-Hagen Historic Center reopens.
Wright’s 1930 Cord L-29 Cabriolet will also be on display along with a 17-foot model of hima structure designed to connect San Francisco and Oakland across the bay with a monumental reinforced concrete bridge proposed in 1949.
“The office is on permanent display, but the string is only on loan until October and the bridge will be here for at least a year,” said George Deutsch, executive director of the Erie County Historical Society-Hagen History Center. “We look forward to sharing the original office where Frank Lloyd Wright worked with his associate. That’s exactly how it was more than 60 years ago. When visitors walk in, they will feel like they entered the office when the staff came out for lunch. Wright also used the office as the original location for the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation. “
While many recognize Wright’s homes in Taliesin, Wisconsin and Taliesin West, Arizona as their main studios, Wright used the office while overseeing projects in the Bay Area from 1951 until his death in 1959.
Green continued to use it as his own office and was later relocated to the Heinz Architectural Center at the Carnegie Museum of Art in Pittsburgh, but there it was behind glass and visitors were not allowed through.
The office came to Erie through the generosity of the Hagen History Center’s benefactor Thomas B. Hagen, who ran the office of Jim Sandoro, the owner of the.
The office is immediately added to Wright’s list of public sites around the world.
The Hagen History Center will have several interactive discussions on Wright’s architecture with national and local speakers over the coming months.
On the opening weekend from July 17th to 18th, visitors can visit the campus free of charge. Scheduled, guided tours are recommended after the opening to comfortably accommodate all visitors.